Tea time at Adonia

So it’s been a while since I’ve had the chance to go out to check out new high tea places, but we did manage it once during Christmas week.  This time it’s at Adonia Kerrisdale Tea House (2057 w. 41st Ave, Vancouver).

First impression: quaint.  To the point of…there’s totally not enough room in here.  Everything was very English, which is exactly the kind of thing I like, but the door opens and immediately in front is a small divider, and immediately behind the divider was a table. Which was where we ended up sitting…and it was COLD every time the door opened. I do suppose it’s better than a blast of heat in the summer.  Lots of little tables against the walls with 2 chairs, so if you have a bigger party (by bigger, I mean more than 2) I’d recommend making a reservation.

The tea selection was decent.  Lots of roiboos to choose from…but still, I am partial to the selection at Secret Garden.  I have yet to find something to beat the Vanilla Earl Grey (remember, this is coming from a girl who doesn’t like Earl Grey tea).

The food was set because it was the Christmas tea menu.  Most of it was decent.  The desserts were pretty good.  Most disappointing were the little quiches that we had.  Why? Because I have a pack of it in my freezer – purchased from Costco.  I didn’t pay 30+ dollars to have re-heated Costco quiches (and suspicious about the potato salad!), no matter how great they taste.

Service was good.  The girl was running around so much though, I felt bad to ask for more hot water. Considering they were turning people away because everything was reserved, I figure adding another body to help out that day would’ve been great.

This one is a recommend.  But with Secret Garden literally just around the bend, I’d go back to Adonia only if Secret Garden was full.

Leave a comment

Filed under Afternoon Tea, Disappointments

Leave a Reply

