What a let down…

So my friend Hannah and I went to Victoria for a weekend, thinking it’d be a great weekend trip and a superb afternoon tea opportunity at the Fairmont Empress Hotel.   Since BC Ferries had a pkg’d deal with the Empress, I figure, why not stay at this hotel that every tourist that has stepped foot on Victoria has taken a pic of/with?

Well now I can tell you why NOT to stay there.

For a 5 star hotel, I was unimpressed from the get-go.  As in..before we even checked in.  That’d be because we stood there in a line for a good half hour. To check in.  I didn’t even have to wait that long at the Wynn in Vegas (yeah it’s the Wynn), and it was FILLED with people checking in.  There were 4 people ahead of us in line.

Then when it was FINALLY our turn, they didn’t have the room we were supposed to get with this package. Which took anoter 10 minutes for this girl to *kick another room out of their room* so we could take the room. Uhhh I hope she just pulled that from her butt cuz I felt so bad.

Parking lot sucked butt.  The corridor leading from the parkade to the lobby was seriously haunted and it plain smelled OLD. Like…soap, talc, mold…all meshed in one.  Grossness?

The room itself was…old. Heh. It’s cute, if you like old things and stepping back into time.  Which, believe me, I do.  But for some strange reason, I didn’t feel at peace in my room.  I was so scared, in fact, that I couldn’t close and lock the bathroom door when I showered because I was so creeped out.

You know when you just..feel..off?

It felt off. We kept all the lights on, kept the TV going (I woke up to equestrian broadcasting)…and yeah.

I spook easy…but not that bad!

I think it’s time for the Empress to get a major overhaul.

The dinner, at the restaurant that was supposedly voted best seafood in Victoria was a disappointment at best.  I didn’t even bother with a name. Service was slow, and just plain terrible.  It got to the point where I just wanted to get up and leave because our waiter was MIA, and the other waiter refused to serve us…or even offer to find our waiter for us.  The food was mediocre, which really is just horrible…because we ordered a seafood platter in Victoria.  It shouldn’t be anything but amazing.

Complete disappointment.

But the high tea at the Empress Hotel was top notch. If you are a tea drinker, the Empress Blend is a definite recommendation for you. That high tea plus the ferry ride to and fro the island were the only highlights of the trip.

You can bet it’ll be at least another 2 years before I make it over again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Afternoon Tea, Dining adventures, Disappointments

Leave a Reply

